New mayor in Carbon Hill, Unit 1 Board of Education to welcome new member

Carbon Hill residents have selected current village commissioner Adam Lee Johnson as their new mayor. He will assume the position from Rich Jurzak who did not seek re-election.
Unofficial vote totals show Johnson handily defeated his challenger Gary I. Smith in a vote of 81 to 5. Smith also serves on the Village Board.

In the five way race for the three available seats on the Unit 1 Board of Education, two incumbents and one newcomer were the choice of voters.

Board secretary Mary Gill and vice president Shawn Hamilton were re-elected and will join their fellow board members in welcoming Steve Rogers when the board reorganizes in just a few weeks.

The unofficial vote totals are:
Daniel P. Englehardt 366
* Shawn Hamilton 450
Adam Brncich 420
* Steve Rogers 450
* Mary Gill 547

A link to all of Grundy County’s Consolidated Election results can be found at Updates will appear in the April 14 edition of The Coal City Courant.